Home > Features > News > Kyleigh’s Law Begins Saturday, May 1
Kyleigh’s Law Begins Saturday, May 1

NJ Motor Vehicle Commission

P.O. Box 160

Trenton, NJ 08666-0160

 

Chris Christie
Governor 

Kim Guadagno
Lt. Governor 

Raymond P. Martinez
Acting Chief Administrator

 


         STATE OF NEW JERSEY

 

For Immediate Release

April 28, 2010

Contact:  Mike Horan, MVC, (609) 292-5203

CUSTOMER ADVISORY REMINDER

Kyleigh's Law Begins Saturday, May 1

Permit and Probationary License holders required to display decals

(TRENTON) - Permit and Probationary License holders under the age of 21, and their parents or guardians, are reminded that Kyleigh's Law, which requires the use of license plate decals, will take effect Saturday, May 1, 2010. Failure to display the decals will result in a fine of $100 in addition to any other fines incurred.

The red, reflectorized decals must be displayed on the top left corner of the front and rear license plates of any vehicle operated by a driver under the age of 21 who possesses a Special Learner's Permit, Examination Permit or Probationary License (formerly known as Provisional). A Probationary License features a "Z" restriction noting that the driver is subject to all Graduated Driver License (GDL) rules and restrictions, including Kyleigh's Law.

Decals are available at any Motor Vehicle Commission Agency for $4.00 dollars per pair. For more information about Kyleigh's Law or other requirements of New Jersey's GDL law, visit www.njmvc.gov. Information is also available at www.njteendriving.com, a website provided by the Brain Injury Association of New Jersey and funded by the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety.

Related Departments & Agencies

Related Links